Dr. Andrew Tharp receives Paul Harris Fellow Recognition

On Tuesday, February 23,2021,  Past President Scott Hurt presented the emblems of the PHF award to Dr. Andrew Tharp. Dr. Tharp has been a respected member of our club since 2014, a dedicated member of the Rotary Santa Run committee securing sponsorships to insure much needed funds for non-profits in our community. He has contributed his wisdom and insight while serving on the nomination committee and has been a member of the board of directors since 2018.

Doctor Andrew Warren Tharp graduated summa cum laude from Ball State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology. He then immediately pursued a medical degree from Indiana University School of Medicine, and graduated in 1988. From there, Doctor Tharp took on a one- year internship at the Indiana Department of Internal Medicine, and completed his 4-year residency at the Indiana University Department of Ophthalmology in 1993.

Doctor Tharp joined the Welborn Clinic immediately after his residency in 1993, and has been with The Vision Care Center since it formed from the Welborn Clinic in 2008. He has over twenty-eight years in the vision care industry.

In 2003, Doctor Tharp took a position on the Board of the Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology as the Chair of the Legislative Committee. Three years later he became Secretary/Treasurer, during which time he was bestowed the 2006 Ophthalmologist of the Year Award from the Indiana Academy of Ophthalmology and again in 2015.

He served as President from 2010 to 2012 and served as Indiana’s Councillor to the American Academy of Ophthalmology. Doctor Tharp is a Fellow to both the American Academy of Ophthalmology and the American College of Surgeons. He is also a member of numerous societies, including the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery, the Vanderburgh County Medical Society and the International Society of Refractive Surgeons.  

Most recently, Andrew Tharp supported and encouraged leadership at the generational level in becoming a founding benefactor of the Rotary 20 Under 40 Program.  
Congratulations, Andy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.